">

Traditional Village «Megalos Prinos - Kazaviti»

 
 
Green abstract picture with ladybug
 
The area was inhabited since the ancient years. A lot of castles and pottery testify the settlement of the inhabitants since 4th century BC.

The area preserved the same agricultural-rural profile during the ulterior years as well as the main relation to the vineyards; the wine seems to testify the name "Kazaviti" which is Latin in origin and its etymology comes out of the words "casa" (house) and vitis (vineyard).

 

Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb

 

As it comes to the recent years, these settlements probably were created in the beginning of the17th century. Since the middle of the 17th century, the elevation of the piracy forces the inhabitants to transfer to the inlands.

 

Today, the most preserved character of the villages is mostly of the19th century while the oldest signs found on houses are dated in 1806 and 1807. The houses preserved up to date are of the so called Macedonian Architecture type, built by skilled craftsmen of West Macedonia and Epirus.

 

Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb Plants: image 1 0f 4 thumb

 

The villages Mikro and Megalo Kazaviti are of the most significant traditional settlements of our country. However, due to their desertion by the inhabitants since 1960 and after, they experience problems in their overall development and preservation. Their recent inhabitants are in great deal foreigners or native people outside Thassos, while the domestic people of the island who preserved their houses are very few.

 

The marvellous site of the villages, the unique flora and fauna which surrounds the area and its great historic and national value, necessitate the activation of all relative national vehicles towards the solution of the serious problems and the preservation of these settlements in their traditional form.

Source: Diary 2002 of the Cultural Club of Prinos